Denmark is a constitutional monarchy in north Western Europe, the southernmost of the Scandinavian countries. Denmark comprises the Jutland peninsula, which extends about 338 km in a north and south direction, as well as numerous islands in the Baltic and North seas. Far to the northwest of Jutland, in the Atlantic Ocean between the Shetland Islands and Iceland, lie the Faroe Islands – a group of 18 islands that are part of Denmark. Near the North American mainland, between the North Atlantic and the Arctic oceans, is the island of Greenland; also an integral part of the Danish Monarchy. Both the Faroe Islands and Greenland are self-governing entities. Denmark has an area of 43,094 km2 with Copenhagen being the capital and largest city.