Norway is a constitutional monarchy in northern Europe, occupying the western and northern portions of the Scandinavian peninsula. It is bordered on the north by the Barents Sea, an arm of the Arctic Ocean, on the northeast by Finland and Russia, on the east by Sweden, on the south by Skagerrak Strait and the North Sea, and on the west by the Norwegian Sea. The Norwegian coastline extends some 2,740 km. Including all the fjords and offshore islands, the coastline totals approximately 21,930 km. Because of the distance from south to north aviation is one of the most important means of transportation. Norway has a land area of 385,639 km2 and Oslo is the capital and largest city.